Am I Famous Now…

...What About The Chicken You Just Saw

AboutUs website pimping or blatant theft?

August 29th, 2006 by WebMatrix · 5 Made Me Smarter

There is a new wiki in town. First time I got aware of AboutUs.org was after reading SonSpring some days ago.

I really didn’t bother too much, but today I noticed AIFN was also listed at AboutUs. AboutUs blatantly had copied parts of my Colophon. Word for word. So I browsed a little their site and pretty fast I discovered a majority of sites I have ever linked at in the past.

I discovered their AboutUsBot page, with some usefull information about howto-block their bot. Of course all the content is bot-generated. Read the wikipage and change your robots.txt file if you don’t want to get listed (or at least not automatically listed).

Besides the violation of the WHOIS-terms, as mentionned in the Sonspring comments, I also think AboutUs is a blatant copyright infringement. True, I nowhere state any copyrights on this site, but I have no CC commons license either. Nor did I ever grant someone the rights to copy this.

Maybe blogland united should consider blocking AboutUs.org.

Tags: , , , // 428 Views

5 have made me smarter ↓

  1. Gravatar

    1 Rik // Aug 30, 2006 at 1:46 pm// View all comments by Rik//  Add karma Subtract karma  +0

    Should I be offended because they’ve never heard of me? Perhaps not…

    I thought “Blogland United” would be our football team?

  2. Gravatar

    2 Franky // Aug 30, 2006 at 2:00 pm// View all comments by Franky//  Add karma Subtract karma  +0

    Nah, better not. That website serves no purpose, other than probably getting a great PR and then be sold.
    Of course, could it be you have Disallow-useragent: * ?
    Seems to be a pretty recent website, still without PR. And still a useless concept. Anyone who has a website with special flair/character/deontology/whatevah can submit his website to Wikipedia anyway.

    F.C. GNTBA ?

  3. Gravatar

    3 Rik // Aug 30, 2006 at 2:41 pm// View all comments by Rik//  Add karma Subtract karma  +0

    F.C. GNTBA?

    You’ve lost me there. Please to explain?

  4. Gravatar

    4 Franky // Aug 30, 2006 at 2:43 pm// View all comments by Franky//  Add karma Subtract karma  +0

    Hehe.
    F.C. Got Nothing To Blog About ?!

  5. Gravatar

    5 Rik // Aug 30, 2006 at 3:04 pm// View all comments by Rik//  Add karma Subtract karma  +0

    Heh. Indeed! :D

Comment Policy

Spam comments are not supported and will be deleted.

This site supports a dofollow policy for comments, accordingly I do reserve the right to remove your URL if your comment seems to be nothing more than a plug to your site. This is a non-discutable decision from my side.

Stay polite and ad rem in the comments. We all, me too, have had our child days, but have grown up. Flame comments will be deleted.
If you really want to flame, feel free and do it on your own blog. Feel free to link back.

Off topic comments will be deleted.